We are upgrading your ProofHQ Support Experience. To Submit a new request navigate to Workfront Help System and sign in with your ProofHQ credentials then click Open a Ticket

Setting up a proof with Automated Workflow

Enabling Automated Workflow on the New proof page

To enable Automated Workflow on the New proof page, click the Use Automated Workflow link (1).

If you change your mind, you can disable Automated Workflow on the New proof page:
  • Untick the Use Automated Workflow checkbox (2)
  • A warning message will come up - click on the Switch to standard button (3) to go back to the standard workflow for this proof
Adding an Automated Workflow template on the New proof page

If your account Administrators set up and shared workflow templates with you, you can select one from the dropdown (1) to quickly add it to your proof.

Please note: Your ability to modify the template will depend on the template settings configured by the Administrator. If the ability to modify the template is disabled, only the owner of the template will be able to adjust it.

While setting up the workflow for your proof, you will notice a diagram being created. Every stage you add to your proof will appear in the diagram, clearly indicating the dependencies between the stages. Private stages are marked with a key icon.

The diagram floats, which means that it will remain visible even if you scroll down the page.

If you don't need to see the diagram, you can hide it (1).

Adding a stage

To add an additional stage to your workflow, simply click on the New stage button (1).



Deleting a stage


To delete a stage, click on the trash icon available in the top right corner of the stage (1). The icon appears when hover over the stage.

Stage name

The stage name appears on the Workflow diagram and is included in the email notifications sent to reviewers.

Activate stage

For each stage of your Workflow, you can decide when it should be activated. For your first stage, the following options will be available:
  • On proof creation (1)
  • On a specific time and date (2)
  • Manually (3)
Please note: Only these three options are available for your first stage. The other options will become available when you add a second stage - they require you to select a parent stage.

The options that require picking a parent stage are:
  • After previous deadline is reached (4)
  • All decisions are Approved or Approved with changes (5)
  • All decisions are Approved (6)
  • All decisions are made (7)

Deadline

You can decide how the deadline should be calculated on each stage of a workflow. There options are:
  • From proof creation (8) - in the deadline field (9) you can select the deadline date for the proof
  • From stage activation (10) - in the deadline dropdown you select the number of business days that will be added to the stage activation date to automatically set a deadline on the proof



Lock

There are a number of options that determine when a stage can be locked. The options include:
  • Manual lock (11)
  • Never (12)
  • When the next stage starts (13)
  • When all decisions are made (14)


Primary decision maker

You set the Primary decision maker on the stage. The available decision makers will only come up in the list after you've added the reviewers to the stage.

Please note: If you pick a Primary decision maker, Only one decision required option will no longer be available on this stage.

Only one decision required

You can enable Only one decision required on the stage. This means that the review will be completed once one of the decision makers makes their decision.

Privacy

Each stage can be made private. If a stage is private, the comments and decisions won't be visible to people who are not added to this stage or are not Supervisors, Administrators or Billing Administrators in the account.

This is discussed in more detail here.
To add a reviewer to a stage:
  • Enter a contact name or email address in the field at the bottom of each stage (1)
  • Click on the green plus icon to add them (2)
  • Set the role on the proof (3)
  • Set the email alert (4)
  • When setting up the first stage, you also have the option to change the Owner of the proof (5)
Please note:
  • A reviewer can be added to a proof only once. You cannot add the same person to more than one stage on the proof.
  • Reviewers who are not added to a private stage cannot see the stage on the proof or comments made in that stage.
You can convert a basic proof to Automated Workflow by clicking the Convert to Automated Workflow option on Proof details page (1).



After the proof is reworked to Automated Workflow, all stages are active, public and their Lock stage option is set to Manual by default. All stages remain with users and their settings.
  • Activate stage option is set to On proof creation in every stage
  • Deadline calculated from option is set to Proof creation in every stage
  • If on basic proof Only one decision option was selected then all stages have it selected
  • If on basic proof Primary decision maker was selected then stages with that recipient are set to them and all other have it set to None
  • Stage name will remain the same
After basic proof is converted to Automated Workflow, you can add additional template to it. Add template button is visible on the Proof details page in Workflow section (1).


Please note:
  • Template settings determine what can be done with a proof to which this template was added. E.g. if the template has Add a stage and Add people to stages options disabled, buttons to add stage and share proof will not be visible.
  • If Add a stage option is disabled in the given template, after adding it the Add template button will not be visible.

Error when adding a template

When a person is added to a stage in an Automated Workflow template, but also already present on the proof then if this template is applied, the system will remove this person from the stage automatically. If there is no one else added to this particular stage, the following error will be shown, as the system will not allow to add an empty stage to the workflow.



If you want to know more, please contact Customer Support Team.
Have more questions? Submit a request
Powered by Zendesk