We are upgrading your ProofHQ Support Experience. To Submit a new request navigate to Workfront Help System and sign in with your ProofHQ credentials then click Open a Ticket

Managing files

The File details page displays your file information as well as gives you tools to manage and share your files in an organised and secured way.

The page contains:
  • File details (1)
  • Action buttons (2)
  • Shared with (3)
  • Activity (4)
  • Messages (5)



Action buttons
The action buttons allow you to manage and share your files easily. In few clicks you can:
  • Manage tags applied to the file (1) - you can add and manage tags from here
  • View tags applied to the file (2) - You can remove unwanted tags by clicking the cross next to tag name
  • Organize your files into folders (3) - click here to move a file between existing folders or place in a new folder
  • Share the file with other people* (4) - an email notification including a custom message and download links will be sent to the recipients
  • Convert to proof* (5) - The file must meet our file types requirements for proofs.
  • Download (6) - get the original file to your computer
  • Delete a file (7) - move the file to Trash if it's no longer needed. Please note that the file will count towards your storage limit until the Trash is emptied.
Please note: The above action buttons will only be available if you have edit rights on the file (see Profiles and permissions).

* For files which were shared from another ProofHQ account (and not uploaded to your own account), the convert to proof option will only be available on Enterprise Plans.




File details

The file details section has the following information:
  • Folder where the file is stored (1) (and breadcrumb trail)
    • You can also see how many people the folder has been shared with (6)
    • You can edit the folder by clicking the drop down menu and selecting a new folder (7)
  • File name (2) - you can edit this in line. (The original file name at the time of upload will still be shown in the activity section.)
  • Preview (3) (if available), original file name, created date and ID (it is important to provide the file ID if you contact support@proofhq.com with any queries regarding your file)
  • Tags (4) - you can view and delete tags applied to the file
  • Owner (5) - you can edit this field and assign the file to other person in your organisation.



Shared with
This section shows you who the file has been shared with (1). You can message or remove people here by opening the actions menu (by clicking on the icon (2) on the right).




If you choose to Message a person (3), the Message all page will appear where you will be able to bulk message if you wish.

To bulk message simply:
  • Select the tick box for the relevant people
  • Add a subject and message if desired
  • Click Save
The people you've selected to message will receive an email alert which replicates the original email alert that was sent when the file was originally shared.

You can also Remove someone from the file share list by choosing this option in the person's actions menu (4) (you will be asked to confirm before they are removed).

Activity

This section shows all the activity on the file, including the time, date and person who performed the action. For example:
  • File uploaded
  • New people added
  • People removed
  • File downloaded
Messages
In this section you can trace all messages that sent have been sent in respect of your file (1). You can view the content of those messages by clicking an "i" icon (2) at the right hand side of each message line.


Click the Convert to proof button if you want to change your file into a proof (1).


The Convert to proof page will appear and you simply need to follow the steps for a new proof.
You can also convert a file to a new version of an existing proof by clicking on the New version link (2).



You will be shown the list of all the proofs that match the file that you have uploaded.



Anybody that the file was shared with will automatically appear on the Convert to proof page - you can delete any people you do not want to share the proof with.

Please note: For files shared with you by a user in a different ProofHQ account, the Convert to proof function is only available on our Enterprise Plans.
You can delete a file in the following ways:
  • In the File details page
  • In the All items page
  • In the Folder details page
  • In the File details page
Deleting a file from the File details page
To delete a file from the File details page:
  • Go to the File details page
  • Click Delete (1) in the Header menu


  • A confirmation popup will appear - click Confirm if you want to delete the file



Deleting a file from the All items view
 
To delete a file (or multiple files) in the All items view (1):
  • Select the tick box of the file(s) you want to delete (2)
  • Click on Delete in the Header menu (3)
  • A confirmation screen will appear - click Yes to confirm you want to delete the file(s)
Alternatively:
  • Click the arrow to the right of the relevant file to open the Actions menu
  • Choose Delete (4)



A confirmation pop-up message will appear - click Yes to confirm you want to delete the file




Deleting the file from the Folder details page

To delete a file in the Folder details page (1):
  • Select the tick box of the file(s) you want to delete (2)
  • Click on Delete in the Header menu (3)
  • A confirmation screen will appear - click Yes to confirm you want to delete the file(s)
Alternatively:
  • Click the arrow to the right of the relevant file to open the Actions menu
  • Choose Delete (4)



A confirmation pop-up message will appear - click Yes to confirm you want to delete the file




Have more questions? Submit a request
Powered by Zendesk