We are upgrading your ProofHQ Support Experience. To Submit a new request navigate to Workfront Help System and sign in with your ProofHQ credentials then click Open a Ticket

Proof roles

Proof roles let you set different permissions for people invited to review a proof.

The proof role defines what actions a reviewer can take in relation to that specific proof.

For example, if you are a Reviewer you are being asked to review the proof, e.g. make markups and comments. If you are a Reviewer & Approver you are being asked to review and also make a decision on the proof.

Proof roles should not be confused with Account profiles (for users of ProofHQ). Your account profiles relates to the overall permission level you have in your account and will affect the rights you have over all proofs in your account, even those which have not explicitly been shared with you.

Please see Profiles and permissions for more information.

Certain proof roles will give a reviewer edit rights on the proof (even if their account profile doesn't) and will let them use some additional features like Actions on comments, creating new versions, adding more reviewers to the proof.
Can view a proof

Cannot add markups
Cannot add comments
Cannot make a decision
Cannot delete comments made by others
Does not have edit rights on the proof

Please note: If a folder is shared with a user of ProofHQ, they will automatically be given Read Only rights to all existing and subsequently added items in the folder.

Please also see Sharing folders.
Can view a proof
Can add markups
Can add comments
Can edit own comments if there are no replies

Cannot make a decision
Cannot edit or delete comments made by others
Does not have edit rights on the proof
Can view a proof
Can make a decision

Cannot add markups
Cannot add comments
Cannot edit or delete comments made by others
Does not have edit rights on the proof
Can view a proof
Can add markups
Can add comments
Can edit own comments if there are no replies
Can make a decision

Cannot edit or delete comments made by others
Does not have edit rights on the proof
Can add markups
Can add comments
Can edit own comments if there are no replies
Can make a decision

Can submit new versions
Can create a copy of the proof
Can share the proof with other people
Can apply actions on comments
Can resolve comments

Cannot edit or delete comments made by others

Please note: This role can only be assigned to users of ProofHQ
Can add markups
Can add comments
Can edit own comments if there are no replies
Can make a decision

Can submit new versions
Can add new reviewers
Can apply actions on comments
Can resolve comments

Can delete comments and replies on the proof (made by themself or others)
  • Deleting the first comment in a comment thread will delete the whole thread
  • Deleting replies in the comment thread will delete that reply only
Cannot edit comments made by others

This role allows the person to manage and moderate the proof comments, giving them the opportunity to keep only relevant comments on the proof and remove non-relevant comments.

Please note: This role can only be assigned to users of ProofHQ
New Proofs
 
Proof roles can be assigned to reviewers on the New proof page during the proof creation process (1).




New Versions

When creating a New version of a proof, the reviewers from the previous version will automatically be shown (with the same role as the previous version).

You can edit the proof roles applied to reviewers when creating the new version (1).




Existing proofs

If you want to change a person's role on an existing proof, you can do so on the Proof details page by inline editing their role in the workflow section (1):




Checking roles in the Proof Viewer

You can check the role of a reviewer directly from the Proof Viewer (1) and edit it (2) if necessary.



Click here for the new ProofHQ Viewer




You can set your default proof role on the Proofing Defaults page in your Personal settings. This means that when you are added to a proof, your default proof role will be populated automatically. Please note that this role can be changed at the proof level by a user with edit rights on a proof.

Please note: Only users with Administrator or Billing Administrator profiles can change the proofing defaults for other users in their account.

Please see Personal settings for details.
Creators and Owners have full edit rights on the proof.

Also see Sharing items with Partner accounts.

Creators

The proof creator is the person who uploads the proof in the first instance. The proof creator will be shown automatically in the people list for the proof (in their default role).

On the New proof page you can assign a different proof role to the proof creator (other than their default role).

The proof creator cannot be changed or removed from a proof.

Owners

By default, the Creator is also the Owner of the proof, however the Creator can make someone else the proof Owner when initially creating the proof (on the New proof page).

To change the Owner on the New proof page:
  • Click on the change link displayed next to the Creator's name (1)



  • Select the new Owner from the dropdown menu (2)



Once the proof has been created, it's still possible to change the owner. Anyone with edit rights on the proof will be able to change the proof ownership to another user via the Proof details page (see below).

The ability to change the Owner of a proof is particularly useful from a workflow management point of view. It allows the person responsible for the project to take over the ownership of proofs, giving them edit rights on the proofs and the ability to view them in the My proofs view.

To change the Owner of the proof via the Proof details page:
  • Click on the Actions menu next to the name of the person you would like to make the Owner (1)
  • Select Make owner from the dropdown menu (2)



  • Alternatively you can click into the Owner field next to the proof image and choose the new Owner from the dropdown displayed (3)




Once this is done the word "Owner" will be displayed next to that person's name.

Please note: Only a user from the same account or a partner account can be made the owner of a proof. A user in a partner account can be made the owner of a proof only when:
  • There is an existing partner relationship set up between the accounts (see Partner accounts)
  • There are no custom fields on the new proof page
  • The proof has not been assigned to a folder
  • No tags have been applied to the proof
Have more questions? Submit a request
Powered by Zendesk