We are upgrading your ProofHQ Support Experience. To Submit a new request navigate to Workfront Help System and sign in with your ProofHQ credentials then click Open a Ticket

User profiles and permissions

Profiles available in a standard ProofHQ setup are:

Billing Administrator
Administrator  
Supervisor
Manager
Observer
Guest

We use the term Users to describe all of the profiles except the Guest profile.

Each of the User profiles counts towards your user limit.

Please also see Users for more information.

The assigned profile permissions relate only the users and items in your own account.

The exception is in the case of Satellite accounts, where the main (hub) account Administrator and Billing Administrator can access and manage the Account settings and Billing of those Satellite accounts from the hub account level.

You can see the permissions linked to each profile below.


  Own Items Other People's Items Admin Billing
  Add View Edit Del View Edit Del Edit
and
Del
*
Edit
Billing Admin
Admin  
Supervisor    
Manager          
Observer                


 * Billing Administrators and Administrators can delete users. This can only be done in Account settings.

Please note: When Billing Administrators and Administrators view proofs that are owned by other users in their account, they view them with the role of a Reviewer.

If the proofs are in a folder that is shared with the Billing Administrator or the Administrator (or was created by them) they will access the proofs with the Read Only role.
Billing Administrators have access to Account settings and Billing.

Can create proofs, upload files and create folders*
Can view, edit and delete own** proofs and files
Can view, edit and delete proofs and files created by all users in the organisation
Can delete the public folders of other Users
Has edit rights on all proofs created in the account

Can be set as the Dropzone owner
Can access the Billing page and edit the billing details
Can access the Account settings page and edit the account details
Can empty the Trash

Can add, edit and delete users
Can create groups and add new contacts
Can delete contacts 
Can edit proof comments if there are no replies on them

Cannot edit proof replies
Cannot delete the private folders of other Users

* Please also see Folder permissions
** Items the user created or owns
Administrators have access to Account settings.

Can create proofs, upload files and create folders*
Can view, edit and delete own** proofs and files
Can view, edit and delete proofs and files created by all users in the organisation
Can delete the public folders of other UsersHas edit rights on all proofs created in the account

Can be set as the Dropzone owner
Can access the Account settings page and edit the account details 
Can empty the Trash 
Can add, edit and delete users

Can create groups and add new contacts  
Can delete contacts 
Can edit proof comments if there are no replies on them 

Cannot edit proof replies
Cannot delete the private folders of other Users
Cannot access the Billing page or edit the billing details

* Please also see Folder permissions
** Items the user created or owns
Can create proofs, upload files and create folders*
Can view, edit and delete own** proofs and files
Can view, edit and delete proofs and files created by all users in the organisation
Can delete the public folders of other Users
Has edit rights on all proofs created in the account

Can be set as the Dropzone owner

Can create groups and add new contacts 
Can delete contacts 
Can edit proof comments if there are no replies on them

Cannot edit proof replies
Cannot delete the private folders of other Users

Cannot access the Billing page or Account settings
Cannot add, edit or delete users
Cannot empty the Trash

* Please also see Folder permissions
** Items the user created or owns
Can create proofs, upload files and create folders*
Can view, edit and delete own** proofs and files only
Can see, review and approve proofs of other users that are explicitly shared with them***

Can create groups and add new contacts

Cannot view, edit or delete proofs and files created by other users in the organisation
Cannot edit proof comments or replies
Cannot delete the private folders of other Users
Cannot delete the public folders of other Users

Cannot access the Billing page or Account settings
Cannot be set as the Dropzone owner
Cannot empty the Trash

Cannot add, edit or delete users
Cannot delete contacts  

* Please also see Folder permissions
** Items the user created or owns
*** If a folder is shared with a Manager, they will have Read Only rights to everything in the folder
Can see, review and approve proofs of other users that are explicitly shared with them*
Can view files that are explicitly shared with them

Cannot create proofs, upload files or create folders*
Cannot view, edit or delete proofs and files created by other users in the organisation
Cannot edit proof comments or replies
Cannot delete any items created in the organisation

Cannot access the Billing page and Account settings
Cannot be set as the Dropzone Owner
Cannot empty the Trash

Cannot add, edit or delete users
Cannot create groups or add new contacts
Cannot delete contacts 

* If a folder is shared with an Observer, they will have Read Only rights to everything in the folder (see shared folders).
** Please also see Folder permissions

Please note: The menus/functions available to Observers are limited. Please note the following:
  • Observers will not be able to see the Header menu or the green New menu in their Dashboard
  • Observers won't see the following links in their Settings: Account settings, Billing
The Guest profile is used to give access to proofs for reviewers who do not have their own ProofHQ account. Guests can access proofs shared with them directly via their personal email notifications.

Can view, review and approve proofs that are explicitly shared with them
Can view files that are explicitly shared with them

Cannot access the Dashboard
Cannot have folders shared with them
Cannot be added as Authors or Moderators to the proofs

Please note: Guests are not ProofHQ users, so they cannot see all the proofs shared with them in their own Dashboard.
Administrators and Billing Administrators can edit the permission profiles of all users in the account. To do so:
  • Open Account settings (1)
  • Go to the Users tab (2)
  • Open the User details page by clicking the user's name (3) or by selecting the User Details page from their dropdown menu (4)


  • Select the chosen permission profile from the list (5)
  • Save your by clicking anywhere outside the field


  • Administrators and Billing Administrators can also access and edit the user details from the Contacts page - by clicking the name (7) or choosing the View user details option from the user's dropdown menu (8)



Please note: Please see Activity audit trail for more information on activity logs.
Have more questions? Submit a request
Powered by Zendesk