We are upgrading your ProofHQ Support Experience. To Submit a new request navigate to Workfront Help System and sign in with your ProofHQ credentials then click Open a Ticket

Sharing folders

A whole folder can be shared with ProofHQ users only, i.e colleagues and members (NOT guests).

Folders can be shared with individual users and whole companies.

If you share a whole folder:
  • You CANNOT set roles for the people you are sharing the folder with (roles and email alerts will only apply to recipients when sharing individual proofs)
  • The recipient(s) will have READ ONLY access to all the items in the folder (existing and subsequently added items)
  • The recipient(s) will get ONE email containing a personal URL to the folder
  • The recipient(s) will NOT get email notifications when new items are added to the folder.
  • The recipient(s) will be able to download the original files for items in the folder (please note that each proof must have the Download original file option enabled in order for recipient to be able to download the original file)
  • Owners and creators of folders are always able to view the folder and cannot be removed from the folder
  • If you share a private folder with a Manager user in your account, you can decide if you would like them to have edit rights on the folder - please see the Folder share page below for more information

When a folder is shared the recipient will automatically get an email containing a personal link to the folder.

They simply need to click on the link and this will take them to the ProofHQ login page, once log in details have been entered they will be taken straight to the Folder details page

You can also share items within a folder (rather than the folder itself) - see Sharing proofs and Sharing files for more information.

Sharing a folder with a company

To share a folder with a partner organisation, there must be an existing partner relationship set up between your account and theirs.

Sharing a folder with a partner means:
  • All users in that organisation will have Read Only access to the folder (and folder items)
  • Any new users added to the organisation will automatically have Read Only access to the folder (and all items in the folder)
Please see Sharing items with a partner account for more information.

You can share a folder using the folder's actions menu. This functionality is available in any list view (so any of the standard Views, Folder details page, My folders page).

To share a folder using the actions menu:
  • Click on the actions menu (1) in any of the list views
  • Select share (2)
  • The Share page will appear (see below)

To share one or more folders:
  • Go to My folders page (1)


  • Select the folder(s) you want to share (2)
  • Tick the select all box if you would like to share all your folders (3)
  • Click the Share selected items button (4)
  • The Share page will appear (see below)

To share a folder from the Folder details page:

  • Click on the Share button (2)


  • The Share page will appear (see below)
You can share a sub-folder:
  • From the Sub-folder details page (please see Sharing a folder from the Folder details page above)
  • From the Parent folder details page
Please note:
  • If a parent folder which contains subfolders is shared and subsequently a subfolder is moved out from under the parent folder (e.g. to top level), the original share will not be maintained on the subfolder. This is because the subfolder itself was not explicitly shared, the parent folder was, therefore in this case if you would like the subfolder to be shared with the original recipients you should share the subfolder again with those recipients.
  • If a private parent folder is shared with a Manager and edit rights on the folder are given to this user, this setting will be inherited by all subfolders in the private folder automatically
Share a sub-folder from the parent folder's details page

To share one or more sub-folder from the Parent folder's details page:
  • Go to the parent folder's details page
  • Select the sub-folder(s) to be shared (1)
  • Click the Share selected items button (2)
  • The Share page will appear

On this page you can:
  • Add users to the folder by typing in their email address (1)
  • If you are sharing a private folder with a Manager user in your account, you can decide if you want them to be able to create, edit and delete folder items. Simply click in line to select the desired option (2)
  • If you change your mind you can remove them by clicking on the Trash icon (3)
  • You can remove all of the people you just added in one go by clicking on the top Trash icon (4)
  • When you are ready, click Save (5) to share the folder
Please note: If you share the folder with a group or partner, all contacts in that group or partner organisation will appear in the share section of the page.

You can then delete any people you do not wish to share the folder with. 


When a folder has been shared with someone it will appear in the sidebar of their ProofHQ account under the name of the owner of the folder.

Also, when a folder is shared the person will automatically get an email containing folder details (1) and a personal link (2) to the folder.

They simply need to click the link and this will take them to the ProofHQ login page. Once login details have been entered they will be taken straight to the Folder details page


When a sub-folder has been shared with someone it will appear in the sidebar of their ProofHQ account under the name of the owner of the folder.

If the parent folder, or items from it, have already been shared with the same person, the sub-folder will automatically appear under the parent folder in the sidebar and within the parent folder's details page.

Also, when a sub-folder is shared the person will automatically get an email containing the sub folder details (1) a personal link to the folder (2).

They simply need to click on the link and this will take them to the ProofHQ login page, once log in details have been entered they will be taken straight to the Sub-folder details page.





Have more questions? Submit a request
Powered by Zendesk