To upload a new file:
The New file page has the following sections:
Click on the Select files button to upload a file or drag and drop files into the blue box. Repeat to add as many files as you like - the Select files button will be named Select more files when one or more files have been selected already. The files you upload will appear as individual files in your account, rather than one merged file.
Note: You can also use the Desktop uploader to upload files and submit files with a whole folder stucture.
Files can also be created from URLs.
To create a file from a URL:
In this section you can share the file with contacts, groups and partners. See Sharing a file from the New file page.
You can choose to notify people that a file has been shared with them, or choose to have no notification email sent (the default selection is for an email to be sent). If you do choose to notify people, you can also add a subject and message which will be shown in the email received by the recipient(s) of the file.
In this section you can:
The File Details page displays your file information as well as gives you tools to manage and share your files in an organised and secured way. The page contains:
1. File details
2. Action Buttons
3. Shared with
The action buttons allow you to manage and share your files easily. In few clicks you can:
1. Manage tags applied to the file - you can add and manage tags from here.
2. View tags applied to the file. You can remove unwanted tags by clicking the cross next to tag name.
3. Organize your files into folder - click here to move a file between existing folders or place in a new folder
4. Share the file with other people* - an email notification including a custom message and download links will be sent to the recipients.
5. Convert to proof*. The file must meet our file types requirements for proofs.
6. Download - get the original file to your computer
7. Delete a file - remove the file from your account if it's no longer needed. (NB: deleted items do count towards storage limit.)
Please note that these action buttons will only be available if you have edit rights on the proof (see Profiles and permissions and Proof Roles).
* For files which were shared from another ProofHQ account (and not uploaded to your own account), the convert to proof option will only be available on Enterprise Plans.
Click the Convert to proof button if you want to change your file into a proof. The New Proof page will appear and you simply need to follow the steps for a new proof. You can also convert a file from the All items page.
Anybody that the file was shared with will automatically appear on the New proof page - you can delete any people you do not want to share the proof with.
Note: For files shared with you by a user in a different ProofHQ account, the Convert to Proof function is only available on our Enterprise Plans.
The file details section has the following information:
1. Folder where the file is stored (and breadcrumb trail)
2. File name - you can edit this in line. (The original file name at the time of upload will still be shown in the activity section.)
3. Preview (if available), original file name, created date and ID (it is important to provide the file ID if you contact email@example.com with any queries regarding your file)
4. Tags - you can view and delete tags applied to the file
5. Owner - you can edit this field and assign the file to other person in your organisation.
This section shows you who the file has been shared with (1). You can message or remove people here by opening the actions menu (by clicking on the icon (2) on the right).
If you choose to Message a person (3), the Message all page will appear where you will be able to 'bulk' message if you wish. To 'bulk' message simply:
The people you've selected to message will receive an email alert which replicates the original email alert that was sent when the file was originally shared.
You can also Remove someone from the file share list by choosing this option in the person's actions menu (4) (you will be asked to confirm before they are removed).
This section shows all the activity on the file, including the time, date and person who performed the action. For example:
In this section you can trace all messages that sent have been sent in respect of your file (1). You can view the content of those messages by clicking an "i" icon at the right hand side of each message line.
See Sharing files
You can delete a file in the following ways:
To delete a file in the File Details page:
To delete a file (or multiple files) in the All items page (1):
To delete a file in the Folder Details page (1):